DREAM THEATER unveil video/new single ‘Paralyzed’!

Posted on by Oran

There is a palpable excitement surrounding two-time Grammy-nominated and millions-selling progressive music titans, Dream Theater and their upcoming 14th studio album, ‘Distance Over Time’.

Following on from two recently released tracks, “Untethered Angel” and “Fall Into The Light” (both of which have received millions of plays already via YouTube and Spotify), the band returns with their first official single from their February 22nd release.

Paralyzed” is quintessential Dream Theater; a song that showcases the band’s unique ability to write memorable melodies backed with unique song structures and maestro-level musicianship.

Wayne Joyner, who also imagined the clip for “Fall Into The Light”, created the animated video for the song. The video for “Paralyzed” can be seen below;

“The song is an introspective reflection on the negative impact that being obstinate or single-minded can have on important relationships,” explains guitarist John Petrucci.

Distance Over Time showcases newfound creativity for Dream Theater while maintaining the elements that have garnered them devoted fans around the globe.

The album also marks the first for the band’s new label InsideOutMusic / Sony Music. The artwork was created by long-time cover collaborator Hugh Syme (Rush, Iron Maiden, Stone Sour). Distance Over Time was produced by John Petrucci, mixed by Ben Grosse and mastered by Tom Baker.

Distance Over Time tracklist:

1.    Untethered Angel (06:14)
2.    Paralyzed (04:17)
3.    Fall Into The Light (07:04)
4.    Barstool Warrior (06:43)
5.    Room 137 (04:23)
6.    S2N (06:21)
7.    At Wit’s End (09:20)
8.    Out Of Reach (04:04)
9.    Pale Blue Dot (08:25)
10. Viper King (Bonus Track) (04:00)

Oran O’Beirne

www.overdrive.ie 2019