Posted on by Oran

DESPERATE MEASURES, the high energy, London punk and rollers release their brand-new album’Sublime Destruction’ on March 22nd on Cadiz Music.

Loaded with eleven personal and political, hook laden anthems, the album was written over the last two years and during the pandemic.

Featuring previous singles ‘Thinking Of England’, ‘Back To The Rats’, and the title track ‘Sublime Destruction’, the album was recorded with Andy Brook (who has produced, engineered, and toured with the like of Status Quo, Ginger Wildheart, Wonk Unit, Hayseed Dixie) at The Brook Studios, Wallington, Surrey.

From the opening roar of ‘Back To The Rats‘, the Sex Pistols riff-a-rama of ‘The Rich-Tual‘, and the danced-up Stooges grooves of ‘Enjoy The Ride‘, through to the Psychedelic Furs-like, ‘Untouchable‘, ‘Sublime Destruction’ is anything but sublime.

Instead, it’s a huge statement of intent from a band that back up their in-your-face attitude 100% on the stage. Having just completed a roaring UK tour with Cleveland, Ohio punk legends The Dead Boys, and currently in the midst’s of a dual headline tour with friends Janus Stark, Desperate Measures have blasted out another smouldering track ahead of the album’s release next week in ‘Seven Sisters’, their epic ode to their North London manor.

I live and work on Seven Sisters Road, one of London's most derived streets,” explains frontman Eugene Butcher.There’s glimmers of hope against the odds, but desperation and despair are always near.”

That sense of anguish is perfectly channelled in the song’s moody, fiery heaviness. “The money train never stops, and you never see the cops on Seven Sisters…
Watch the ‘Seven Sisters’ video below…

Desperate Measures are celebrating the release of ‘Sublime Destruction’ with a special album launch gig at The Lexington, London on March 30 the with The DeRellas and Thrill City. Tickets available HERE:

Sublime Destruction’ album track-listing:
1. Back To The Rats
2. Pocket
3. Sublime Destruction
4. The Rich-Tual
5. Enjoy The Ride
6. Lost Angels
7. Untouchable
8. Thinking Of England
9. Flowers At Your Door
10. Seven Sisters
11. Still Got Me

Pre-order ‘Sublime Destruction’ HERE:
Desperate Measures are:

Eugene Butcher (vocals),

James Sherry (drums),

Michael Gaffney (guitar/vocals)

Ricky Mc Guire (bass/vocals).

Oran O’Beirne 2024