Posted on by Oran

Richmond, Virginia based powerhouse LAMB OF GOD recently kicked off pre-orders for their new self-titled album alongside the first single, ‘Checkmate’.

In a trailer released today, guitarist Mark Morton discusses the new single and how it all came together.

The new album, which is is due out May 8 via Nuclear Blast, is the band’s first release in five years and the first to feature new drummer Art Cruz.

Watch ‘Checkmate‘ below;

A true collaboration between all members of the band, LAMB OF GOD’s eighth studio album is an amalgam of each individual’s contributions, blended to create a singular style.

Guitarists Mark Morton and Willie Adler fuel the album with a mountain of riffs, taking what LAMB OF GOD are known for, and unbelievably, upping the ante to new levels.

The rhythm section of John Campbell, looming large as a rhythmic shadow, and drummer Art Cruz, who makes his studio debut with LAMB OF GOD here on this record, underpin the proceedings with passion, sweat and expansive dynamics. Vocalist D. Randall Blythe is as angry, insightful, and informed as ever.

Never one to shrink from facing the darker aspects of our nature head-on, Blythe delivers with no punches pulled, and as only he and LAMB OF GOD can in 2020.

Check out the video below:

In the midst of writing the ten songs that appear on LAMB OF GOD, the group hit pause on the works-in-progress to man the stage as main support SLAYER’sThe Final Campaign‘.

After months of playing their best-known songs nightly, LAMB OF GOD returned to the new tracks and began to work with longtime producer Josh Wilbur (KORN, MEGADETH, GOJIRA, TRIVIUM).

Special guests Jamey Jasta (HATEBREED) and Chuck Billy (TESTAMENT) also make appearances on the album.

Pre-order Lamb Of God on a variety of formats, here.

Oran O’Beirne 2020