Posted on by Oran

The Swedish extreme tech-metal pioneers MESHUGGAH recently revealed the title of their upcoming eighth album, “The Violent Sleep Of Reason” which will be released worldwide on October 7th. Overdrive has managed to get our hands on the first trailer for the album! Get it all below….




We are beside ourselves with anticipation for the new MESHUGGAH album which is due for release later this year. The bands return to Ireland has sparked a level of excitement in the Irish metal scene that we have not seen in many years. Tickets for MESHUGGAH in Dublin’s Vicar Street on January 18th 2017 are on sale now via Ticketmaster and Sound Cellar. Please check DME Promotions for updates.

Click on this link for information on MESHUGGAH live in Dublin 2017.


Tomas Haake comments, “Basically, the whole idea of why we chose the title is it kinda connects with the lyrical content of the album. Which is to a fair degree about current events and what you see is going on as far as terrorism today, extremist views on ideals, and religious dogma and the violent implications that you get from being asleep so to speak and not acting/reacting to what is going on in the proper way”

Check out the video below:

The album was produced by the band and was engineered by Tue Madsen of Puk Studios in Kaerby, Denmark. For the cover, the band once again enlisted Keerych Luminokaya who created the artwork for Koloss and The Ophidian Trek as well as the new images for each of the 7 albums and 3 EP’s featured in the 25 Years of Musical Deviance box set.

“The Violent Sleep Of Reason” will be available in the following formats:Mushuggah - Voilent Sleep of Reason
Nuclear Blast UK Store:
– Mail-Order Exclusive Box Set*
Limited to 1,000 worldwide
Includes: Latex face mask, (2) stickers, (2) 1.25” buttons, poster flag, certificate of
– Limited Edition Double Gatefold Gold Vinyl
– Limited Edition Double Gatefold Silver Vinyl
– Limited Edition Double Gatefold Light Blue/Orange Bi-Coloured Vinyl
Available here.
– Limited Edition Black Double LP
– Limited Edition Double Gatefold Picture Disc
– CD Digipack
Available here.

Track listing as follows:
1. Clockworks
2. Born in Dissonance
3. MonstroCity
4. By the Ton
5. Violent Sleep of Reason
6. Ivory Tower
7. Stifled
8. Nostrum
9. Our Rage Won’t Die
10. Into Decay

Visit MESHUGGAH online at

Photo - Anthony Dubois © 2016

Photo – Anthony Dubois © 2016



Oran O’Beirne

© Overdrive 2016