Posted on by Oran

Nine Inch Nails will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame tomorrow [November 7th]. 

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has made a significant change to its Class of 2020.

Representatives for the museum in Cleveland have confirmed that six current or former members of Nine Inch Nails have been added to the band’s induction alongside frontman Trent Reznor.

When the nominations for the Rock Hall were announced last October, only Reznor was listed as part of NIN’s induction. That trend continued when the band was revealed as an inductee in January.

However, when the annual Inductee Exhibit debuted at the museum last month, more members of the band were listed under Nine Inch Nails’ bio.

Those members – Atticus Ross, Robin Finck, Chris Vrenna, Danny Lohner, Ilan Rubin, Alessandro Cortini – will now be inducted with Reznor during the 2020 Induction Special airing on HBO and HBO Max Nov. 7.

It’s unclear whether or not the Rock Hall or Reznor pushed for more band members to be inducted. Though, Reznor did indicate in interviews that he preferred some of his bandmates were added.

Ross is the only other person currently listed as an official member of Nine Inch Nails as both a studio and touring musician. Ross has been with the band since 2016 and worked on several film projects with Reznor. The duo won an Oscar for Best Original Score for “The Social Network.”

Finck is currently part of NIN’s touring band. He has played on four live albums and worked on the band’s 2008 studio album “The Slip.” Drummer/keyboardist Chris Vrenna was with Reznor at the very beginning, playing on “Pretty Hate Machine,” “Broken” and “The Downward Spiral.” He also performed with the band during its epic Woodstock ’94 set.

 Danny Lohner spent a decade with Nine Inch Nails from 1993 to 2003, contributing to “The Downward Spiral,” “The Fragile” and “Things Falling Apart.” He officially joined the live band during the 1994 “Self-Destruct” tour.

Cortini has had two stints with Nine Inch Nails including its current run, performing on four albums after joining Reznor’s live band on the 2005 “With Teeth” tour. Ilan Rubin has been a touring member of Nine Inch Nails since 2009, playing on 2013 live EP and the 2013 studio album “Hesitation Marks.”

This means Nine Inch Nails’ three current touring members — four, if you count Ross — are earning induction. Lohner and Vrenna are the only former members of the band being inducted.

Noticeably absent are Charlie Clouser, a member of NIN’s touring band for several years who contributed to multiple studio albums and singles, Jerome Dillion, who replaced Vrenna on drums in 1999, and Richard Patrick, the band’s first touring guitarist who went on to form alt-rock band Filter.

LOS ANGELES, CA – JULY 23: Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails performs onstage on day 3 of FYF Fest 2017 at Exposition Park on July 23, 2017 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Rich Fury/Getty Images for FYF)

Oran O’Beirne 2020