Posted on by Oran

It’s been five long years, but Overdrive can finally report that as of today, Red Fang are back with a new studio album entitled ‘Arrows’. Get full details and pre-orders below…

Sludgy Portland stoner-rock veterans Red Fang are back with a 13-track LP that is due for release via Relapse Records on June 4th. 

The band continue their long history of making enjoyably ridiculous music videos with director Whitey McConnaughy; their 2013 “Blood Like Cream” clip, for instance, starring Fred Armisen and a horde of hungry zombies.

Today, Red Fang have announced the forthcoming LP ‘Arrows‘, their first in five years. They’ve also dropped a video for the title track, and it shows all the good and bad things that can go down when you come into possession of a katana sword.

Arrows‘ follows 2016’s ‘Only Ghosts‘, and Red Fang recorded it with Decemberists producer Chris Funk, their longtime producer. The song “Arrows” is a satisfying piece of scuzzed-out riffage, and it’s best experienced with that video.

01 “Take It Back”
02 “Unreal Estate”
03 “Arrows”
04 “My Disaster”
05 “Two High”
06 “Anodyne”
07 “Interop-Mod”
08 “Fonzi Scheme”
09 “Days Collide”
10 “Rabbits In Hive”
11 “Why”
12 “Dr. Owl”
13 “Funeral Coach”

Get your pre-order for ‘Arrowshere.

The clip is a series of truly entertaining comedy sketches in which we learn what happens when a group of schlubs get their hands on samurai weaponry. Watch it below.

WOW! We are SO EXCITED to finally release this record to the world! We finished the album way back in December 2019 and then… something happened that is not worth discussing…,” adds vocalist/bassist Aaron Beam. “Making this record felt totally loose and easy. It felt like we were just doing whatever the fuck we wanted, and not overthinking anything. That attitude reminded me a lot of what it felt like to make ‘Murder the Mountains’. The result doesn’t sound anything like MTM, but it has more of that vibe.”

More to come on Red Fang in the coming months.

Oran O’Beirne 2021