Posted on by Oran

Symphonic metal unit EXIT EDEN has unveiled a stunning new music video for their shimmering cover version of French iconic pop artist Mylène Farmer’s “Désenchantée”.

Consisting of Clémentine Delauney (Visions of Atlantis), Anna Brunner (League of Distortion) and Marina La Torraca (Phantom Elite).

French-born, Clémentine Delauney presents the track in her mother tongue – which marks the very first time ever doing so for a whole song! “Désenchantée” is cut from the band’s second studio album, ‘Femmes Fatales‘…

And, together with the accompanying music video, lures the listener into the mysterious world of Mylène Farmer, showing a whole new exciting facet of EXIT EDEN.

In addition to its six cover versions of famous cross-generational super-hits, Femmes Fatales is the trio’s first record featuring original songs, written by Anna Brunner and Hannes Braun (Kissin’ Dynamite), with one exception, “Dying in my Dreams”, co-written by Marina La Torraca.

EXIT EDEN’s new masterpiece follows their debut, Rhapsodies in Black (#15 DE album charts), and millions of video views (12M on their cover of Bonnie Tyler’s “Total Eclipse Of The Heart” alone). The album, in its entirety, marks an illustration of strength and female empowerment topped with symphonic heaviness.

Watch the official music video for “Désenchantée” below and make sure to order your copy of Femmes Fatales!

Clémentine Delauney on the song:
Reflecting upon the journey that shaped the woman I’ve become, I, Clementine, delved into the influences of my youth – the individuals and artists who ignited my inspiration. Among them, Mylène Farmer, a pop artist whose universe, thoughts, and messages I held in high regard during my teenage years. Her poetry, distinctiveness, and bittersweet perspective on life, with a touch of melancholy, left an indelible mark. I am convinced that her portrayal of despair and loneliness remains relevant to this day.
In our video rendition of “Désenchantée,” I aimed to pay homage to this iconic song and the unparalleled artist behind it. Seeking to evoke the essence of the 90s, the era of its inception, I imagined a way to connect it to the contemporary landscape of 2024 – a world where the evolution of our digital lives has heightened the sense of isolation.
Releasing on Valentine’s Day, this tribute is for anyone feeling lonely in our super-connected world.”

Femmes Fatales tracklisting:
1    Femme Fatale
2    It’s a Sin
3    Run! (feat. Marko Hietala)
4    Separate Ways
5    Buried in the Past
6    Désenchantée
7    Dying in my Dreams
8    Poison
9    Alone
10  Hold Back Your Fear
11  Kayleigh
12  Elysium

Clémentine Delauney
Anna Brunner
Marina La Torraca

Oran O’Beirne 2024