Posted on by Oran

The Grief unveils a compilation album featuring tracks from their first two albums. Get more details below…

Cork-based Doom/death metal outfit The Grief recently surprised with a compilation album, ‘Horizon’s Fall’, featuring all 9 tracks from the first two digital EP’s Ascent‘ and ‘Descent‘.

01. To A New Dawn
02. In Defiance
03. Call Of The Void
04. Departed
05. Scourge
06. Sunder
07. The Ascent
08. Den Of Thieves
09. To Hew In Wrath

Limited edition Digipak CD ‘Horizon’s Fall’ was released on November 20, 2020.


Available now as high-quality 6-panel Digipak, featuring beautiful new artwork from Slava Gerj along with a 4-page booklet of lyrics & artwork. This package is also shipping with a limited edition sticker of the album art.

Formed in early 2016, The Grief plays a mixture of doom-tinged metal with influences from Paradise Lost, My Dying Bride and Anathema to name a few.

The band recorded their first 9 songs during 2019 at Murphy’s home studio in North Cork. The songs have been mastered by Dan Swanö at Unisound Studio in January 2020. The first four songs were released as ‘Ascent’ EP in February and were followed by ‘Descent’ EP in October 2020.

Check out the feature interview we did with the guys back in April, via this link.

For more information and orders, please visit this link.

The Grief is:
Stephen Quinn – Vocals
John Murphy – Guitar
Paul Quinn – Guitar
Kieran O’Leary – Bass
Con Doyle – Drums

Oran O’Beirne 2020