Posted on by Oran

The Jesus Lizard are back with their first new music in 26 years.

Photo credit: Joshua Black Wilkins

The eminent post-hardcore band will release ‘Rack’, its new album and the follow-up to 1998’s Blue, on September 13 via Ipecac Recordings.

The Jesus Lizard have also announced a tour and shared the lead single “Hide & Seek,” which comes with a music video capturing all four members—David Yow, Duane Denison, Mac McNeilly, and David Wm. Sims—in the recording studio. Check out that new song below.

Rack is The Jesus Lizard’s seventh studio album overall. All 11 tracks were recorded with producer Paul Allen at Nashville’s Audio Eagle Studio. “There are definitely some references to the past, but it’s more as a point of departure: We don’t stay there,” said Denison. Sims added that they decided to write a new record purely because “we thought it would be fun.

The Jesus Lizard’s tour itinerary will bring them across North America and Europe. The route largely takes place this autumn and in early 2025. It begins, however, with a few concerts this month, followed by a performance at Hopscotch Music Festival in Raleigh, North Carolina, on September 7.

On Rack, The Jesus Lizard have returned reconstituted, refreshed and positively revving. No tepid, bland tracks to show how they’ve “matured” as songwriters. No inane detours into unnecessary genre exercises.

The Jesus Lizard. They might not be young, but they will never, ever get fucking old.


1.            Hide & Seek
2.            Armistice Day
3.            Grind
4.            What If?
5.            Lord Godiva
6.            Alexis Feels Sick
7.            Falling Down
8.            Dunning Kruger
9.            Moto(R)
10.          Is That Your Hand?
11.          Swan The Dog

Pre-Order the album here.

From there, The Jesus Lizard will play Dublin’s Button Factory on January 15th, 2025. Tickets are on sale now via this link.

After breaking up in 2000, the Jesus Lizard reunited in 2008 to play a brief tour, including a set at Pitchfork Music Festival the following year. They once again reformed in 2017 for another tour, but have been relatively quiet since then.

Oran O’Beirne 2024