Triptykon To Release “Requiem (Live At Roadburn 2019)” In May

Posted on by Oran

Triptykon have a May 15th release date planned for their “Requiem” live release. Titled “Requiem (Live At Roadburn 2019)“, the outing will arrive on Prowling Death Records/Century Media Records.

You may recall that Triptykon‘s performance at last year’s ‘Roadburn Festival‘ saw the Tom G. Warrior-ed outfit perform a three-part requiem that originated during the latter’s time in Celtic Frost.

To that end, the Dutch Metropole Orkest was enlisted for a set that opened with “Rex Irae” off Celtic Frost‘sInto The Pandemonium” and closed with “Winter‘ off “Monotheist“. The then newly completed “Grave Eternal” served as the second movement.

Warrior commented of the coming release:

We are truly, deeply delighted to be able to have been granted the opportunity to finish this unique project begun by Celtic Frost so many years ago, and to finally share the completed recording with the world, This album is the result of two years of passionate work, and it marks the conclusion of a musical idea first considered over three decades ago.

Moreover, this Requiem also represents drummer Hannes Grossmann‘s first recording with Triptykon, and we are very proud to feature him in such an extraordinary context.

It was an incredible honour to collaborate with the Metropole Orkest, conductor Jukka Iisakkila, guest vocalist Safa Heraghi, and the esteemed Roadburn festival. In fact, there couldn’t have been a better partner for the “Requiem” project than Roadburn.

We are releasing this Requiem album in memoriam of our deeply missed friends and collaborators Martin Eric Ain and HR Giger.

“Requiem” (46:00 min.) is composed of three chapters:

01. “Rex Irae” (06:34 min.) (First appeared on 1987’s “Into The Pandemonium” album by CELTIC FROST)
02. “Grave Eternal” (32:28 min.) (Newly written middle part)
03. “Winter” (06:54 min.) (First appeared on 2006’s “Monotheist” album by CELTIC FROST)

This unique and groundbreaking release is available in the following formats:

* Special Edition CD + DVD Mediabook
* Limited Gatefold LP + DVD (With LP-Booklet and 2x poster)

*Unlimited black 180g. vinyl and selected limited coloured editions
* Standard CD Jewelcase
* Limited Deluxe Artbook with coloured LP + CD + DVD + coloured 7-inch (With bonus track, scorebook of 60 pages, 3x poster, art print and photocard)
* Digital album

“Requiem”‘s main cover art is titled “Blood Angel” and was created by Daniele Valeriani.

TRIPTYKON “Requiem” lineup (from left to right in a photo by Ester Segarra):

Tom Gabriel Warrior – voice, guitar
Hannes Grossmann – drums, percussion
Vanja Slajh – bass, vocals
V. Santura – guitar, vocals

Special guest:

Safa Heraghi – “Requiem live co-lead vocalist. Pre-orders will launch on March 20th.


Oran O’Beirne 2020