Posted on by Oran

It’s been a long time coming, but today we can finally reveal the long-awaited vinyl re-issue of ‘Dead Again’ will be dropping on November 25th, with pre-orders live from today! 

‘Dead Again’ is Type O Negative’s seventh (and final) studio album, which was released four years after 2003’s ‘Life is Killing Me’ LP.

The LP saw the much-anticipated return to the sonic bombast that the Brooklyn-based band is famous for and is a stone-cold classic.

TYPE O NEGATIVE’s Kenny Hickey comments,

The first casualty of this album was the record company – which promptly went under after its release. Soon after, Peter passed, and then even the rehearsal studio it was written and developed in was burnt to the ground by Hurricane Sandy.

As the black cloud continued its relentless path over Type O, ‘Dead Again’ appeared and disappeared from the streaming platforms for years. Now that the storm has passed, we have some slight hope of establishing a small illusion of permanence with this final release of ‘Dead Again’. We are sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused you.”

Featuring such classics as ‘Dead Again‘, ‘She Burned Me Down‘, ‘Tripping a Blind Man‘, ‘Halloween in Heaven‘ and the spine-tingling, ‘Hail and Farewell to Britain‘, [to name but a few], ‘Dead Again‘ is a stone-cold classic release that solidified the bands’ global status as leaders, and pioneers of Goth-infused Metal.

Clocking in at over 77 minutes, Dead Again is a musical journey through the darkest depths of the human condition. Love, loss, insanity, morality, mayhem, your secret dreams and worst nightmares are all included in the Type O Negative formula created by the self-taught professor of emotional chemistry, Peter Steele.

Recorded and produced by Steele and keyboardist Josh Silver, the sound of darkness is prophetic, the rock is hard and the screams are real. The 15-year anniversary of the album will be celebrated with three 180g green with black splatter discs, featuring a bonus live disc, housed in a triple-gatefold sleeve.

Dead Again was engineered, mixed, and mastered by Mike Marciano in 2006 at System Two Studios in Brooklyn, NY. The album was produced by Peter Steele and Josh Silver who also aided in the mixing of the record.

Below is the Dead Again track-list:

Dead Again
Tripping A Blind Man
The Profit Of Doom
September Sun
Halloween In Heaven
These Three Things
She Burned Me Down
Some Stupid Tomorrow
An Ode To Locksmiths
Hail And Farewell To Britain
Bonus Tracks
Everything Dies (live)
My Girlfriend’s Girlfriend (live)
Black Sabbath (intro) / Christian Woman (live)
Love You To Death (live)
Black No. 1 (Little Miss Scare-All) (live)
Anesthesia (live at Wacken Open Air 2007)
Christian Woman (live at Wacken Open Air 2007)
Love You To Death (live at Wacken Open Air 2007)
Kill You Tonight (live at Wacken Open Air 2007)

Today, the band announces that they are offering a limited edition re-issue of Dead Again. The following formats are available for pre-order:

CD Jewels
Long Box
Tinted Green Cassette
LPGreen In Bottle Green w/ Black Splatter
Olive Black Swirl
Mint Swirl w/ Black Splatter
Green White Swirl
Olive Green

Pre-orders are now live and can be accessed via this link.

Oran O’Beirne

www.overdrive.ie 2022