Posted on by Oran

The Quireboys are back with details on their new album, ‘Wardour Street’. Details below…

In 1990, the Quireboys released their debut album ‘A Bit Of What You Fancy’. An album that brought British rock’n’roll to the attention of virtually every country in the world.

This was no overnight success though, as the band had worked tirelessly, touring every club and venue up and down the country, paying their dues, and learning their craft. Their hard work finally paid off.

The debut album made them the second biggest selling band of the year on EMI / Parlophone, and with one of the world’s biggest managers, Sharon Osborne, together with Rod McSween at ITB agency, the Quireboys toured the globe, not only playing their own sold out shows, but also as special guests on stadium tours to artists such as the Rolling Stones, David Bowie, Guns’n’Roses, Aerosmith, and Bon Jovi, to name a few, the list could go on endlessly, just as the band have continued endlessly themselves.

On May 24th the Quireboys will release a new single from the album titled ‘Raining Whiskey’ that features the vocals of Scottish singer and songwriting legend Frankie Miller.

Let’s cut to the chase, Frankie Miller is the singer’s singer, and the songwriter’s songwriter,” explains Spike. “Just ask Sir Rod Stewart, Willie Nelson, Elton John, Joe Walsh, the list is endless, even Ray Charles had a hit with one of his songs.
“I first met Frankie at the Brit awards in 1993, the year The Faces performed with Bill Wyman on bass,” continues Spike. “It was both an honour, and a shock when Frankie came up to me and congratulated me on the Quireboys success, and as we got talking, we hit it off straight away.”

The band have set a release date for a special 7″ of ‘Raining Whiskey’, which you can pre-order here. The flipside of the single features ‘Jeeze Louise’, released earlier this year and showcasing the Quireboys at their bar room brawling, rock n’ roll best, displaying to the world exactly how it should be done and what to expect from their forthcoming album.

This album has been both heartbreaking and amazing to make,” summarises Spike. “I know Guy Bailey will be proud of the record, especially, having Luke Morley playing guitar, and for me to be singing with his favourite vocalist, Frankie Miller. This is for you; I love you Guy x”.

Wardour Street’ will be released September 13th via Cadiz Music. Pre-order HERE:

Catch the Quireboys live at the following dates:

9 Sheffield, Corporation
10 Newcastle, Riverside
11 Wolverhampton, KKs Steel Mill
12 Swansea, Patti Pavilion
24 Call Of The Wild, Festival
26 Greenwich London, Triangle Café

23 Stonedead Festival


20 Limelight Belfast, with Pat McManus

28 Winterstorm Festival

Oran O’Beirne 2024