Posted on by Oran

We’ve only been waiting  29-years for Bay Area Second Wavers, Vio-Lence to drop some new music and today is the day! 

VIO-LENCE have returned with “Flesh From Bone,” their first song in 29 years.

The track comes from their upcoming E.P., Let the World Burn, their first original release since 1993’s Nothing to Gain. The five-song collection will be available worldwide on March 4th via Metal Blade Records.

Listen to “Flesh From Bone” below;

This is the first VIO-LENCE song I had written in close to 30 years,” admits founding guitarist Phil Demmel. “I wanted to keep some of those early Eternal Nightmare (debut album, 1988) qualities intact but infuse a lot of what I‘ve culled into my songwriting arsenal over the decades. ’Flesh From Bone‘ has the frenetic picking/fingering riffs and the solo trade-offs that are pretty old-school, and I‘m also wearing my influences on my sleeve with a few Exodus and Slayer inspired riffs.

Frontman Sean Killian adds, “‘Flesh From Bone‘ reflects on the true suffering of man during the dark ages of history. Laws and rules of people like Vlad the Impaler were not to be broken, if you did your sentence would be impalement, or worse. To die in battle was to suffer.

For 34 years, a creation called Eternal Nightmare has been making memories for people around the world. Now, it is time to create some new memories in 2022,” laments Killian. “I am very proud of the new music we created, and we are fortunate to have worked with some very creative people. Nothing too polished here, unless fragments of glass and broken razor blades are what you consider polished. I love to create, and we hope your heads explode when you hear the new VIO-LENCE!

Filling out the band‘s ranks on Let The World Burn alongside Demmel and Killian are original drummer Perry Strickland, former OVERKILL guitarist Bobby Gustafson and former FEAR FACTORY bassist Christian Olde Wolbers.

Let the World Burn was recorded with Juan Urteaga at Trident Studios (Testament, Machine Head, Exodus), with mixing handled by Tue Madsen (The Haunted, Meshuggah) and Grammy Award winning engineer Ted Jensen (Alice In Chains, Deftones, Pantera).

Pre-orders are now live with a killer selection of limited colour vinyl and merch. Find out more via this link.

Let The World Burn‘ Track Listing
1 – Flesh From Bone
2 – Screaming Always
3 – Upon Their Cross
4 – Gato Negro
5 – Let the World Burn

Overdrive caught up with vocalist, Sean Killian last year to discuss the album. Get the full feature interview here.

Oran O’Beirne 2022