Posted on by Oran

Ex-Xerath shredder Conor McGouran and members of Shardbourne, Defences , Sons of Apollo and The Helix Nebula unveil new project, ‘The Enigma Division’ with the first single ‘1977’ taken from the forthcoming new self-titled album.

By far, one of the most highly-anticipated releases from the flourishing Irish metal scene, The Enigma Division finally unveil the first single from their forthcoming self-titled new album which is due for release in early 2020.

The Enigma Division are an Irish based outfit. Their music comprises of eclectic elements, most notably film score, synth-wave & progressive metal.

Their upcoming self titled debut album features 9 tracks that promise to bring a new perspective on cinematic progressive music with an emotive heartfelt futuristic vision.

Check out the new single/video ‘1977’ below;

The band features Conor McGouran (Xerath), Ronan Burns (Craig Walker), Ben Wanders (Xerath/Shardbourne) with guest appearances from William Alex Young (Defences), Derek Sherinian (Sons Of Apollo/Planet X/Dream Theater), Stephen Taranto (The Helix Nebula/Solo) and many more.

Conor McGouran – “The Enigma Division started as the brainchild of myself and Ronan Burns. We both have quite a wide range of musical tastes and the idea was to create¬†a sound that combined all of those influences and make it our own. It’s become a sound we refer to as “Tech-Noir” as it incorporate’s our love for atmospheric 80’s synth music, film score and science fiction combined with extremely groove laden heavy riffs

Stay tuned for more details coming soon.

Oran O’Beirne

www.overdrive.ie 2019