Posted on by Oran

Steve Vai and Favored Nations / Mascot Label Group have presented an official music video for Little Pretty. 

The composition is featured on Vai’s upcoming studio album titled ‘Inviolate’ which will be released digitally and on CD January 28, 2022 and LP on March 18th.

The recording is a dark-toned fusion-funk workout.  Steve Vai shares, “In writing the chord changes for the solo section, and the solo itself, I dug deep into my academic music theory mind to create a set of chord changes where the harmonic atmosphere shifted on every change. The dense chord structures required a series of synthetic modes to navigate.

This approach is along the lines of jazz and fusion players, but I knew I did not want it to sound anything like that and the solo had to be totally melodic. The results were pretty powerful in that the entire solo section evokes melodic atmospheric changes that shift dramatically but work together well.

Looking towards the holidays and a new year, he shares: “I am also wishing all a very happy and restful holiday season. You will need it because I predict in 2022, we will all be out there working together again and blowing up that bridge!

Over the course of a more than 40-year career, Steve Vai has routinely transformed what would appear to be outrageously impossible into something very, very possible… and still also pretty outrageous.

From his days as Frank Zappa’sstunt guitar” player to his more recent expansive and exploratory solo work, Vai has continually challenged notions of traditional guitar playing and composition – and on more than one occasion even reimagined the very instrument itself.

Steve Vai will begin an extensive tour of the U.S., with 54 scheduled appearances on January 27, 2022 at the House of Blues in Las Vegas. It is the first leg of appearances that begins a World tour planned for the next several years. Vai will be joined by his long-tenured ensemble members Dave Weiner (guitar / keys), Philip Bynoe (bass), and Jeremy Colson (drums).

Vai shares, “A performer thrives on performing.  It’s been my life for the past 49 years, with the exception of the last two years, so we are chomping at the bit to get out there and play for people. A music concert has the ability to momentarily dissolve the many challenges we face, and celebrate one of the good things in life, live music.

Pre-order “Inviolate” here.

Track listing for the new album is as follows:

1. Teeth Of The Hydra
2. Zeus In Chains
3. Little Pretty
4. Candlepower
5. Apollo In Color
6. Avalancha
7. Greenish Blues
8. Knappsack
9. Sandman Cloud Mist

Oran O’Beirne 2022